Call for symposia for the 8th EED conference in Naples

The Scientific Committee of the EED invites proposals for symposia for the 8th EED conference in Naples (7-10 July 2020). It is the aim of our conferences to stimulate communication between subdisciplines and researchers from different countries. We therefore particularly encourage the submission of symposia on broad and integrative topics of potential interest to researchers from different fields (e.g. developmental biology, genetics, paleontology, theoretical biology, genomics, morphogenesis) and with a clear evolutionary aspect. We strongly encourage symposia that combine animal and plant studies and this, plus an emphasis on evolutionary mechanisms, will be major selection criteria in the case of symposium topics that are suitable for both animal and plant talks.

Ideally, speakers should come from several countries, with no more than 2 speakers from the same country. Symposia can accommodate 4 invited speakers and allow 25 minutes for each speaker (20 minutes talk and 5 minutes discussion). Please note that speakers can only present in a single symposium. To facilitate selection of symposia for the program, please include the following in your proposal:

(1)  Title of symposium

(2)  Provisional list of proposed speakers

(3)  Brief (abstract length) description of the symposium, including a short indication of what the different speakers are expected to contribute

(4)  Brief justification of why the symposium is appropriate for an EED meeting (e.g. timeliness, general interest, interdisciplinarity)

(5)  Contact information of all symposium organizers

(6)  Please indicate whether you intend to seek external financial support for your symposium

The deadline for symposium proposals is 30 September 2019. All submissions (as word-files and not pdfs), should be sent to: with the subject line EED symposium.

Please note that the EED does not provide financial support for speakers invited to a symposium, and the Society thus encourages symposium organizers to seek external support for their symposium.

We look forward to receiving your suggestions for symposia!

EED Awards

Nominations for EED Awards

In relation to our next conference in Naples we invite nominations for the two EED awards: Distinguished Fellow & Biennial Award


Summer School on Evolutionary Developmental Biology – Venice, September 18th-21st 2017

Summer School on Evolutionary Developmental Biology
Conceptual and Methodological Foundations

5th Edition: Process Thinking for Evo-Devo

Venice, September 18th-21st 2017

Organizers: Alessandro Minelli, Gerd B. Müller and Giuseppe Fusco
School director: Johannes Jaeger

School sponsors: Istituto Veneto di Scienze, Lettere ed Arti (IVSLA), Venice and Konrad Lorenz Institute for Evolution and Cognition Research (KLI), Vienna.

Location: Istituto Veneto di Scienze, Lettere ed Arti, Palazzo Franchetti, Venice

Taching panel: Johannes Jaeger (School Director, KLI Klosterneuburg, Austria), Scott Gilbert (Swarthmore College, Swarthmore, PA, U.S.A.), James DiFrisco (KLI Klosterneuburg, Austria), Nick Monk (University of Sheffield, U.K.), Berta Verd (KLI Klosterneuburg, Austria), Ron Jenner (Natural History Museum, London, U.K.), Graham Budd (University of Uppsala, Sweden), Stuart Kauffman (Institute for Systems Biology, Seattle, WA, U.S.A.)

Deadline for applications: May 30th 2017

For details, visit

Natural History Museum

UK Evo Devo Symposium, 8 September 2017

UK Evo Devo Symposium, 8 September 2017, Flett Theater, The Natural History Museum, London

The NHM will host a 1 day symposium with invited and contributed talks, posters and catering. Please contact to register your attendance.

Plenary speaker: Angelika Stollewerk (Queen Mary Univ)

Invited speakers: Sinéad Drea (Leicester Univ), Andrew Gillis (Cambridge Univ), Jordi Paps (Univ Essex), Alistair McGregor (Oxford Brooks), Ildiko Somorjai (St Andrews Univ)

Organisers: Pete Olson (NHM), Dave Ferrier (St Andrews Univ), Arkhat Abzhanoz (NHM & Imperial College)